Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Annie Altschul Collection

Doctoral Theses by Mental Health Nurses

Explore doctoral level research by Mental Health Nurses with the Annie Altschul Collection

About the Annie Altschul Collection

The Library and Archive Service at the Royal College of Nursing has collaborated with the RCN Mental Health Forum and Mental Health Nurse Academics UK to bring together a selection of doctoral level theses, all of which have been completed by mental health nurses. The collection was launched at the 21st International Mental Health Nursing Research Conference.

Conference delegates and members were asked to nominate a person for whom the new collection would be named after. Professor Annie Altschul, an RCN fellow, was the clear winner:

Born to a Jewish family in Vienna in 1919, Annie fled Austria and the Nazi regime and settled in Britain in 1930. Like many other refugees in the 1940s, she trained as a nurse and midwife before deciding on a career in psychiatric care. She is considered by many to be a pioneer of British mental health nursing research and practice. She wrote many influential books on psychiatric nursing.

This collection highlights the range of research that has and can be carried out by mental health nurses. The RCN hopes the new resource will encourage a new generation of nurses to take an interest in research or pursue a PhD or equivalent.

We have broadly themed the theses together and you can use the menu to navigate between sections. We also have information on where you can search for further theses 

If you would like to make a suggestion, ask any questions or require help accessing materials please let us know. You can find our contact details online or use the 'Chat Now' button

 

Logo for the Mental Health Nurse Academics UK

 

How do I contribute my own thesis to this collection?

We aim to periodically add to this collection. If you are a mental health nurse and wish to add your thesis to our collection then you can do so by filling out our online form. Once we've received your information we will review the content and add it to the database. 

UA-65978162-1